Measuring the Performance of Social Media


Measuring the Performance of Social Media

Having only started blogging earlier this year, I am a little behind the curve on using social media. I hadn’t even thought about measuring the response. According to a press release from ShipServe, the marine online trading company, I am not alone. Indeed, it seems there are people and companies that are fully engaged in the e-commerce world who are not measuring activity.

ShipServe conducts a survey on e-commerce and social media run each year. The headline finding is that over 40% of the companies surveyed are not measuring the success the results online or offline. This is done, I learn from the press release, through web analytical tools. Indeed, I now realise that WordPress, the website I use to host my blog, has a raft of web analytic tools. There are even more tools on the Google site.

If you want to look at the survey results, these can be found at http://www.shipserv.com/info/wp-content/uploads/online_survey_2012.png. The survey results are presented in a clever graphic, based around a voyage from Shanghai to Rotterdam. I would place my voyage way-point somewhere just outside Shanghai harbour!

About Craig Jallal
A shipping analyst whose feels the need to comment on the industry.

Leave a Reply

